2009 outstanding Ilonggo students, pupils bared

PIA Press Release 2009/03/13

2009 outstanding Ilonggo students, pupils bared

Iloilo City (13 March) -- The Outstanding Circle Students of Iloilo (OCSI) has released the winners for the 2009 Search for the Ten Outstanding Secondary School Students and Ten Outstanding Elementary Pupils of Iloilo.

Leading the winners in the elementary level is Arvin John Tejereso, a grade six pupil of Cabatuan Central Elementary School who was named as this year's Most Outstanding Elementary Pupil of Iloilo.

Vincen Gregory Yu, a fourth year student of Iloilo Central Commercial High School topped the secondary level and got this year's Most Outstanding Secondary School Student of Iloilo award.

Other awardees for elementary are: (2) Jamero, Jollimee A., West Visayas State University - ILS, (3) Quilantang, Lainly D., SPED - ISEC, (4) Patriarca, Raymund John, Jaro I Elementary School, (5) Susmiran, Patrick Jules, Sta. Barbara Central Elementary School , (6) Chan, Kevin Friedrich Y., Iloilo Scholastic Academy, (7) Bimbo, Angeli Janne Ga, Central Philippine University, (8) Cajandig, Mary Monique, Children's Integrated School of Alta Tierra, (9) Fenis, Ivan Misola, Miagao Central Elementary School, and (10) Villaruz, Gerrod J., Ateneo de Iloilo - SMCS.

Completing the list of the awardees for the secondary level are: (2) Java, Albert Jan Matthew A., Central Philippine University, (3) Juan Loa, Nina Isabela P., Ateneo de Iloilo - SMCS, (4) Macero, Milrose P., Passi National High School , (5) Solas, Mark Collin P., Iloilo National High School, (6) Marmolejo, Daryl Ecuben, Guimbal National High School, (7) Miņosa, Nathaniel G., Lambunao National High School, (8) Zamora, Abner C., Anilao National High School, (9) Hontoria, Jaywardene G., Colegio de San Jose, and (10) Faculin, Andre Karl S., Colegio del Sagrado Corazon de Jesus.

OSCI Chairman Henry Caspe said the awardees were selected from the pre-screened nominees based on Academic Achievements (including written examinations), Co-Curricular Activities, and Panel Interview.

Formed in 2004, the OSCI is composed of professionals who were former recipients of the Ten Outstanding Secondary School Students or the Ten Outstanding Elementary Pupils awards given during the time of former Governor Condrado Norada.

With the aim to continue the legacy of honoring outstanding students in the absence of similar recognition, OSCI in coordination with the Department of Education conduct this yearly search participated in by all public and private schools in the city and province of Iloilo.

Caspe said winners automatically become members of the OSCI who are committed to give their share in community involvement.

This year's awardees will be formally honored in a simple ceremony on March 20, 2009, 2:00 pm, at the Monfort Hall of the Department of Education Building in La Paz, Iloilo City. (PIA)

Cabatuan.com - Timeline 2009