Rumel Angelo Alfaro of Cabatuan Central Elementary School
makes it to Ten Outstanding Elementary Pupils of Iloilo

Award rites set for Iloilo outstanding students

Cabatuan, Iloilo, Philippines
PIA Press Release, 2008/02/21

Award rites set for Iloilo outstanding students

Iloilo City (21 February) -- Public schools' students dominated the search for the Ten Outstanding Secondary School Students and Ten Outstanding Elementary Pupils of Iloilo for School Year 2007-2008.

This annual search is organized by the Outstanding Students Circle of Iloilo (OSCI) in coordination with the Department of Education.

Founded in 2004, the OSCI is a group of professionals who were all former recipients of Outstanding Elementary Pupils and Outstanding Secondary School Students awards given by former Iloilo Governor Condrado J. Norada.

The awardees for the high school level are Jo Jan Paul Penol of Pavia National High School, Stephen John Palomaria of Passi National High School, Rosa Lea Baldevarona of University of the Philippines High School, Stella Mariedith Leda of Lambunao National High School, Paul Vincent Bayona of Saint Paul, Barotac Nuevo, Cornelius Cesar Jude Salinas of Westbridge School for Boys, Rose Ann Garces of Guimbal National High School, Stephanie Keiko Enarbia of Ateneo de Iloilo, Quennie Lyn Umadhay of Sta. Barbara National Comprehensive High School, and Beverly Ann de la Vega of Jalandoni Memorial National High School.

For the elementary level the awardees are Maphete Dianne Lustre of West Visayas State University – Integrated Laboratory School, Maria Trenas Montelibano of SPED-Integrated School for Exceptional Children, Florencio Deypalubos of Sta. Barbara Central Elementary School, EJ Marie Roga of Iloilo Central Elementary School, Emma Rose Guanco of Iloilo Scholastic Academy, Rumel Angelo Alfaro of Cabatuan Central Elementary School, Marc Adrian Philippe Estuche of Children's Integrated School of Alta Tierra, Aserina Yvonne Baladjay of Jaro I Elementary School, Ma. Phoebe Subo of Barotac Nuevo Central Elementary School and Kristiana Claire Yray of Ateneo de Iloilo.

OSCI Chairman Henry Caspe said 38 graduating secondary students and 45 graduating elementary pupils from the different public and private secondary and elementary schools in the city and province of Iloilo joined this year's search.

This year, members of the screening panel were composed of past awardees chaired by Dr. Japhet Gensaya Fernandez–de Leon.

Caspe said each winner will receive a plaque and medal while their respective coaches and schools will be given certificates.

The awards ceremony will be held at the Monfort Hall of the Department of Education, Lapaz, Iloilo City at 2 p.m. on March 7. (PIA)

(Bookmark this page for future reference)

CABATUAN AIRPORT - Timeline 2008