DILG bares regional winners for 2010 Local Legislative Award

Monday, February 07, 2011

DILG bares regional winners for 2010 Local Legislative Award

by R. G. Cadavos

MAASIN CITY, Southern Leyte, Feb 7 (PIA) -- Consistent with the Regional Awards Committee policy on transparency, the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) based here disclosed the results relative to the recently concluded 2010 Local Legislative Award, basing on the 2010 records and reports of each municipality/city.

Local Government Operations Officer Loren Abrau-Aniciete of DILG-Southern Leyte said in a short talk that the municipality of Macrohon won the Local Legislative Award for the 4th to 6th class municipalities category with a rating of 88.82%, while Maasin City which garnered 85.73% was awarded as the 2010 Hall of Fame Awardee having won for three consecutive years from year 2008-2010, for the component city category.

The two local government units from Southern Leyte will be automatically the regional entry for the same search at the national level, Information Officer-designate Aniciete bared.

Other winners were mentioned as follows: Babatngon, Leyte with 86.75%; Cabucgayan, Biliran – 85.63%; Balangiga, Eastern Samar – 84.53%; Marabut, Samar – 78.55%; and finally, San Isidro of Northern Samar with 76.54%.

For the 1st to 3rd class municipalities’ category, the awards went to Catarman, Northern Samar – 82.66%, followed by Hilongos, Leyte with 62.60% and Naval of Biliran with 72.89%. Ormoc City also won the Independent Component City category with 87.87%, Aneciete further disclosed.

The conduct of the local search was facilitated the Department of Interior and Local Government in close coordination with the Philippine Councilors’ League, it was learned.

DILG Undersecretary Austere Panadero graced the awarding ceremony in lieu of Secretary Jesse Robredo, while DILG-Southern Leyte was represented by Provincial Director Juan Badocdoc.

Held at the People’s Center, Tacloban City, January 28, the regional activity was fully supported by Macrohon Municipal Mayor Fe G. Edillo, Vice Mayor Allan Aroy and the Sangguniang Bayan Members, and City Mayor Maloney Samaco, Vice Mayor Effie Abiera-Sabandal and the Sangguniang Bayan members, all of Maasin City also attended the day activity. (PIA-soleyte)

Cabatuan.com - Kasimanwa.com - Austere Panadero

Boracay, Aklan