DepEd, OSCI to recognize outstanding students
Tobias, Libiano and Montalban represent Cabatuan Schools

DepEd, OSCI to recognize outstanding students

By Lilibeth A. French, Wednesday 6th of March 2013

ILOILO CITY, March 6 (PIA) -- Twenty graduating students in elementary and secondary levels in the city and province of Iloilo will be recognized in an awarding ceremony at St. Joseph School, Diversion Road, Iloilo City on March 15.

The students are this year’s winners in the Search for the Ten Outstanding Elementary School Pupils (TOESP) and Ten Outstanding Secondary School Students (TOSSS) of Iloilo for academic year 2012-2013 by the Outstanding Students Circle of Iloilo (OSCI).

Aubrey Beatrice Carnaje of SPED-Integrated School for Exceptional Children emerged highest in the rankings.

The other awardees are: Nancy Nicole T. Supena of Sto. Domingo Elementary School; Ma. Samantha Ysabel L. Co of Ateneo de Iloilo-Santa Maria Catholic School (SMCS); Fergie John O. Frange of Central Philippine University; Heather Angelique Parangan of West Visayas State University; Rose Mae L. Andresio of Sta. Barbara Central Elementary School; Dominic S. Yap of PAREF Westbridge School Inc.; Leif Mathieu T. Tobias of Cabatuan Central Elementary School; Eunice Lyn F. Salistre of Solomon Integrated School de Iloilo and Daryl John A. Libiano of Cabatuan Parochial School.

Meanwhile, the outstanding students in the secondary level are: Blessed Bea T. Plondaya of Saint Joseph School (Iloilo); Kevin Friedrich Y Chan of Iloilo Scholastic Academy; Alyssa Jude M. Montalban of Cabatuan National Comprehensive High School; Jose Roy E. Santos. Jr. of Central Philippine University; Kelly A. Binder of University of San Agustin; Nizza Ann E. Regalado of Ateneo de Iloilo -SMCS; Mary Clarence G. Madero of Pavia National High School; Caryl Joanne A. Nonato of SPED – Integrated School for Exceptional Children; Bianca Patrice S. Syching of Iloilo Central Commercial HS and Jovie Anne R. Cabangal of Barotac Viejo National High School.

OSCI Chairman Henry Caspe said 28 pupils and 33 high school students were nominated in this year’s search done in coordination with the Department of Education-Iloilo.

After the written examinations on January 23, finalists faced a panel of distinguished judges for an interview last February 13.

OSCI seeks to recognize not only the outstanding achievements of students in their academic performance but also in their respective schools and communities through the annual event.

Winners will receive medals and plaques while their coaches and schools will be given certificates. (JCM/LAF/PIA6) - Timeline 2013