3 Cabatuananons in Iloilo's Outstanding Pupils, Students for 2013-2014
Iloilo’s Outstanding Pupils, Students Bared
Iloilo’s Outstanding Pupils, Students Bared
By: Lilibeth A. French
Wednesday 5th of March 2014

ILOILO CITY, March 5 (PIA6) - - The results of the Search for Ten Outstanding Elementary School Pupils (TOESS) and Ten Oustanding Secondary School Students (TOSSS) of Iloilo for Academic Year 2013-2014 were finally out with Chloe Ellesse Faciolan and Dionysius Valeen Chiu leading the awardees.

Faciolan of SPED Integrated School topped the elementary level, besting 24 other pupils from various private and public schools in the city and province of Iloilo who joined the search.

Completing the 2014 TOESS winners are: Cheril Triol of Sto. Domingo Elementary School; Treasure Babe Horlador of Janiuay Pilot Elementary School; Kathleen Sison of Hua Siong College of Iloilo; Mary Angeli Leonida of West Visayas State University – ILS; Edric John Tabares of Cabatuan Central Elementary School; Dominic Nathaniel Redaniel of Children's Integrated School of Alta Tierra, Inc.; Nico Angelo Sombiro of Solomon Integrated School de Iloilo; Mandy Umadhay of Sta. Barbara Central Elementary School, and Chelsea Ann Lagon of Iloilo Central Elementary School.

Chiu emerged as the top winner for the batch 2014 of the TOSSS which was participated in by some 31 graduating high school students. He represented the Iloilo Scholastic Academy in the search.

Other TOSSS winners are Rae Dawn Vales of Cabatuan National Comprehensive High School; Brian Christian Atencion of Hua Siong College of Iloilo; Ziber Jee Ysulat of SPED – Integrated School for Exceptional Children; Rose Jade Eugenie Delgado of Colegio de San Jose; Michael Angelo Dejando of Oton National High School; Edward Dominic Emilio of PAREF Westbridge School, Inc.; Michael Deon Burla of Pavia National High School; Thomas Richard Graza of Igbaras National High School; and Joan Lebaquin of West Visayas State University – ILS.

The annual search honors students who manifest outstanding achievements in their academic performance and in their schools and communities. It was launched by the Outstanding Student Circle of Iloilo in coordination with the Department of Education-Iloilo eight years ago.

Participants were nominated by their respective schools and pass a selection process that includes written examination and panel interview.

OSCI Chairman Henry Caspe said the winners will be formally recognized during the awarding ceremony slated on March 14 at the school gym of the Iloilo Scholastic Academy in Mandurriao district starting at 1:30 PM.

Educator and world renowned photography guru Mr. Manuel Librodo, Jr. who is also a TOSSS awardee in 1981 will be the inspirational speaker. (JSC/LAF-PIA6)

Timeline 2014