Iloilo registers 1,018,871 voters

PIA Press Release 2010/01/22

Iloilo registers 1,018,871 voters

Iloilo City (22 January) -- The Commission on Elections (COMELEC) in Iloilo was able to register a total of 1,018,871 voters in the province of Iloilo for the coming local and national elections this May 10.

Iloilo province has five congressional districts, 42 municipalities and one component city.

Iloilo Provincial Elections Officer Atty.Elizabeth Doronila said among the five congressional districts in the province, the 5th district recorded the most number of registered voters with 232,239.

The fifth congressional district is composed of 11 towns. These are the towns of Sara, San Rafael, Estancia, Concepcion, Carles, Batad, Barotac Viejo, Balasan, Ajuy, Lemery, and San Dionisio.

The third congressional district comprised by the towns of Pototan, Mina, Maasin, Lambunao, Janiuay, Calinog, Cabatuan, Bingawan and Badiangan recorded the second highest number of registered voters with 219,428.

The 4th congressional district posted the third highest number of registered voters in the province with 210,875 from the towns of San Enrique,Dumangas, Duenas, Dingle, Barotac Nuevo, Banate, Anilao and Passi City.

The 1st congressional district recorded 191,027 registered voters and the 2nd district with 165,302. Doronila urged registered voters to watch out for the public demonstration on the use of the Precinct Count Optical Scan (PCOS) machine that will be conducted in their municipalities.

The PCOS demonstration which will run from January 22 to February 22 in Iloilo province is part of the intensified voter's education campaign of the Commission. (PIA) - Timeline 2010