Most citizen-friendly police station, model PNP families awarded

Most citizen-friendly police station, model PNP families awarded

By Edson J. Banares, Monday 3rd of September 2012

ILOILO CITY, Sept 3 (PIA) -- The 18th National Crime Prevention Week (NCPW) celebration in Western Visayas kicked off with the awarding of the Most Citizen-Friendly (MCF) Police Station (PS) and Model Philippine National Police (PNP) Families during the opening ceremonies on September 3 at the Iloilo Freedom Grandstand.

The Jaro Police Station in Iloilo City headed by PCInsp. Gilbert Gorero bagged the Most Citizen-Friendly Police Station award for the city category while Cabatuan PS headed by PSInp. Alejandro Apostol Jr. was named as the Most Citizen-Friendly Police Station in the municipal category.

Each of the top police station received a plaque; P15,000 cash; and a five-foot tall MCF icon.

San Carlos City Police Station and Silay City Police Station were declared second and third placers, respectively, in the city category while the Kalibo Police Station placed second and Jamindan Police Station won the third spot in the municipal category.

PSupt. Nilda A. Rapiz of the PNP-Police Regional Office (PRO-6) Regional Personnel and Human Resource Development Division was declared as winner in the Model PNP Families-family category while SPO1 Ana Baganes of the Mandurriao Police Station won in the solo parent category.

SPO1 Baganes is also one of the national awardees in the 2012 Model PNP Families Search.

PNP-PRO6 Regional Director PCSupt. Agrimero A. Cruz Jr., who was guest speaker during the opening ceremonies, encouraged the community to do their share in preventing crimes.

The opening and awarding ceremonies followed the foot parade that was held through the major thoroughfare of the city from the Iloilo Provincial Capitol to the Iloilo Freedom Grandstand.

National Police Commission (Napolcom) Regional Director Marte S. Palomar also gave a message during the program.

NCPW is observed annually every first week of September by virtue of Presidential Proclamation No. 461. (JCM/EJB-PIA6) - Timeline 2012