OWWA scholars in Western Visayas bared

PIA Press Release 2005/04/29

OWWA scholars in Western Visayas bared

Iloilo City (29 April) -- Thirteen in-coming college students from Western Visayas have qualified as scholars under the Education for Development Scholarship Program (EDSP) of the Overseas Workers Welfare Administration (OWWA) this school year 2005 - 2006.

The new scholars are: Rosemarie Canonoy - Numancia National High School of Fisheries; Ramilene Pulao - West Negros College Integrated School; Aparil Grace Tabuada - Buenavista National High School; Kevin Sadji - Numancia National School of Fisheries; Cherry Rose Jabor - Cabatuan National Comprehensive High School; Avian Paul Caro - Banate National High School; Nona Navarro - San Juan Academy; Shona Mae Mamon - Janiuay National Comprehensive High School; Joelyn Erasmo - Binalbagan Catholic College; Archie Serisola - Pavia National High School; Joyce Fajardo - Cabatuan National Comprehensive High School; Ailyn Roa - Maranatha Christian College; and Dailyn Pasoquin - Mina National High School.

Rosemarie Canonoy, Ramilene Pulao and April Grace Tabuada ranked 4th, 7th and 8th places among the scholars who qualified nationwide.

These EDSP scholars will receive P30,000 per semester, P10,000 of which is allotted for the tuition fee and the remaining amount for stipend. They can enroll for any 4 or 5 year course in any school or university.

To those graduating high school students who are dependents of the OFW and who are interested to avail of the said program, OWWA is now accepting application. Deadline is September 30, 2005.

On May 2, the OWWA is set to celebrate its 23rd anniversary. (PIA)

Cabatuan.com - Timeline 2005