Region 10 outstanding lupons, councilors and barangays recognized


Region 10 outstanding lupons, councilors and barangays recognized

Cagayan de Oro City (12 April) -- Best-performing lupons, local councilors, and barangays were recognized last April 8, 2010 by the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Region 10.

In a celebration of local autonomy, 20 local government units brought home trophies and cash prizes as regional winners of the Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentives Award (LTIA), Galing Barangay (GABAY) Awards and Local Legislative Award, respectively.

LTIA gives recognition to outstanding barangay lupons nationwide in the promotion of the Katarungang Pambarangay or barangay justice system in the country.

Local arbiters of Barangay Bugo of Cagayan de Oro City, Barangay Kalasungay of Malaybalay City, Barangay Liboran of Baungon, Bukidnon, and Barangay Poblacion of Libertad, Misamis Oriental emerged as the regional winners of LTIA under the Highly-Urbanized Cities, Component Cities, 1st-3rd Class Municipalities and 4th-6th Class Municipalities categories, respectively.

Outstanding lupons that were also recognized that afternoon were: for Highly-Urbanized Cities category Barangay Tubod of Iligan City (1st Runner-up); For Component Cities category Barangay Maningcol of Ozamiz City (1st Runner-up), Barangay Mantic of Tangub City (2nd Runner-up), Barangay Maribucao of Gingoog City (3rd Runner-up); For 1st-3rd Class Municipalities category Barangay Barra, of Opol, Misamis Oriental (1st Runner-up), Barangay Poblacion of Tubod, Lanao del Norte (2nd Runner-up), and; For 4th-6th Class Municipalities Category Barangay Poblacion of Sumilao, Bukidnon (1st Runner-up).

On the other hand, best-performing barangays were also recognized under the Galing Barangay or GABAY Awards. GABAY recognizes the best performing barangays and aims to strengthen good barangay governance and stimulate innovations in the barangays.

For this year, Barangay Suarez and Barangay Ubaldo D. Laya both of Iligan City were the Regional Winners under the Highly-Urbanized Cities Urban and Rural Barangays categories,respectively. Meanwhile Barangay Aglayan of Malaybalay City and Barangay Catumbalon of Valencia City were the Regional Winners under the Component Cities Urban and Rural Barangay categories,respectively. The rest of the best performing barangays were: for Component Cities Urban Barangay category Barangay Lurogan of Valencia City (1st Runner-up), for Component Cities Rural Barangay category Barangay Violeta of Malaybalay City (1st Runner-up), Barangay Isidro D. Tan of Tangub City (2nd Runner-up); for 1st-3rd Class Municipalities category Barangay Poblacion of Tubod, Lanao del Norte (Regional Winner), Barangay Imelda of Villanueva, Misamis Oriental (1st Runner-up), Barangay Salawagan of Quezon, Bukidnon (2nd Runner-up); for 4th-6th Class Municipalities category Barangay Kisolon of Sumilao, Bukidnon (Regional Winner), Barangay Poblacion of Libertad, Misamis Oriental (1st Runner-up), Barangay Rizal of Lopez Jaena, Misamis Occidental (2nd Runner-up), Barangay Poblacion of Sapad, Lanao del Norte (Finalist), and Barangay Tagdo of Mambajao, Camiguin (Finalist).

Local Sanggunians who excelled in legislative actions (laws and ordinances) which contributed to the attainment of desirable socio-economic and environmental outcomes were also awarded that day under the Local Legislative Award.

Top prize went to the local legislators of Iligan City as Outstanding Sangguniang Panlungsod under the Highly Urbanized Cities category, while local legislators of Valencia City won under the Component Cities category. Outstanding Sangguniang Bayan awards under the 1st-3rd Class Municipalities and 4th-6th Class Municipalities categories were respectively conferred to the local councilors of Mambajao and Mahinog, both from Camiguin province.

Other LGUs with Outstanding Sanggunians were: for Highly-Urbanized Cities category Cagayan de Oro City (1st Runner-up), for Component Cities category El Salvador City (1st Runner-up), and for the 1st-3rd Class Municipalities category Lugait, Misamis Oriental (1st Runner-up).

Misamis Oriental Governor Oscar Moreno appreciated the giving of such awards to the local officials as initiated by the DILG, saying that "this isn't only mere contests or competitions but others will be benefited from the best practices emerging from these outstanding local government units."

DILG Undersecretary for Local Government Austere Panadero affirmed the Governor's message saying that with effective teamwork the job will be easier and productive, especially for the sanggunians. He also mentioned that the good performance of the GABAY awardees is a concrete manifestation that local government devolution works.

"This award to the barangays also proves that indeed there are heroes among us who continue to work hard for their constituents."

LTIA, GABAY and Local Legislative Award are part of the DILG's Local Government Unit Awards program that recognize the local officials and the barangays who did well in exemplifying good local governance at the grassroots level.

According to Undersecretary Panadero, the DILG, as part of its legislative agenda, will continue to present to Congress the Department's budget which includes certain budget for the barangays and the lupons in order to give the two entities adequate support, especially trainings and incentives for the lupons.

Also present during the awarding ceremony were Cagayan de Oro City Mayor Constantino Jaraula, City Councilor Ian Mark Nacaya, Philippine Councilors League Region 10 President Librado Abesamis, Liga ng mga Barangay Regional President Arsenio Kho, Jr., DILG-10 Regional Director Loreto Bhagwani, Assistant Regional Director Ananias Villacorta, Liga ng mga Barangay Provincial and City Chapter Presidents, PCL Board of Directors, and DILG-10 field commanders.

Director Bhagwani is proud to bestow these awards to the winners as these gave honor and pride to the performing the barangay and local officials, while inspiring others to also strive for excellence in local governance. (DILG) - - Austere Panadero

Boracay, Aklan