PAO cites outstanding achievers in agriculture
PIA 2005/04/11

Iloilo City (11 April) -- The Iloilo Provincial Agriculture Office is set to give due recognition to outstanding farmers, individuals and organizations in the province for their outstanding performances and contributions in agriculture for year 2004 2005 as part of the celebration of the Semana sang Iloilo.

The awardees are: Jeffrey Aguasa of Brgy. Nangka, Batad (Corn Production); Valentin Sujede of Brgy. Baluyan, Cabatuan (Ornamental Crops Production); Avelino Sobredilla of Brgy. Sto. Tomas, Passi (Banana Production); Enrique Sua-an of Brgy. Paho, Zarraga (Pantat Production); Nilo Arellano of Tigbauan Rd., Cabatuan (TPED Utilization); Gregorio Fernandez of Brgy. Agboy, Leon (Dairy Cattle Production); Gerardo Padernal of Brgy. Talongon, Passi City (Integrated Rice-Based Farming System); Marietta Gentorola of Brgy. Igcocolo, Guimbal (Outstanding Rural Women; and Tigbauan Municipal Agricultural and Fisheries Council (Outstanding MAPC).

Also, special awards will be given to Ricky Sulpico of Pagaypay, Passi City as Outstanding Young Farmer; Leopoldo Aguilario of Passi City, Outstanding Agriculturist; and Rosario Reyes of Cabatuan, Outstanding Agriculturist.

On the other hand, the PUPANTA-ARC AGRA MPC of Pughanan, Lambunao was chosen as Outstanding Banana Cooperative and the Federation of Iloilo Horticultural Association as Outstanding HVCC Association, while the Provincial Agricultural and Fishery Council-Iloilo and the Btac. Viejo Integrated Farming System will also be recognized.

The awardees will receive their trophies and cash awards in a ceremony to be held at Iloilo Provincial Capitol Conference Room on April 11, 2005 at 1 o clock in the afternoon. (PIA)