Mae Liza Soresca chosen Lin-ay sang Cabatuan 1987

Cabatuan, Iloilo, Philippines
Source: The Glow, March 1987

Ma. Mae Liza Soresca, "Lin-ay sang Cabatuan '87" is pinned with a sash by Mr. Victor Maroma, assisted by Miss Regina Erfe (The Glow, March 1987)
Mae Liza Soresca, a 4-1 student, bested nine other constestants who vied for the title of "Lin-ay Sang Cabatuan '87". She won the beauty title during a pageant jointly sponsored by the Student Government of the school and the Hublag KKK (Kaaraydan kag Kadungganan sang Kabatuan), held at community stage on March 1.

Adjudged first runner-up was Carmelita Perez, a junior student. Third placer was Jovie Tangeres, a sophomore student.

The board of judges was chairmanned by Mrs. Eleonora B. Padilla, a faculty member of Western Institute of Technology. Other judges were Miss Luci Joy Marie Salazar, Miss Cabatuan '86; Mrs. Ma. Lourdes P. Maroma, an employee of Banco de Oro; Dr. Vicente Albacete Jr., rural health physician; and Mr. Valentin Sujede, college instructor of the school.

Aside from winning the beauty title, Soresca also won two special awards: best in Filipiniana attire and best in swimsuit

First runner-up, Carmelita Perez won the "best in talent" award while third placer Jovie Tangeres was declared winner of the "best in rugged wear" award.

"Lin-ay Sang Cabatuan '87" was crowned by Hon. Fidel M. Ahumada, Officer-in-Charge of the Office of the Mayor, and Mrs. Avelina S. Marquez, head of the Social Studies department of the school.

The Glow is the official publication of the Cabatuan National Comprehensive High School in Cabatuan, Iloilo, Philippines.
Member, National Secondary School Paper Association.

Editor: Reynaldo Allan Bayoneta
Associate: Leizl Lindong
Managing: Epi Ramos
Science: Leo Umadhay, Irene Mae Moreno, Juna Largo
Literary: Genefe Laguna, Daisy Monegro, Mae Liza Soresca, Sonia Cadena
News: Arlene Redome, Cynthia Retotar, Mae Catherine Gallana, Lalaine Novo
Features: Mary Gretchel Amor, Gloria Valenzuela, Josefa Dabi, Lira Libutaque
Sports: Denis Cabucos, Rebecca Figueroa, Edwin Aguirre
Adviser: Mrs. Eppie M. Talamor
English Critic: Mr. Victor S. Maroma
Pilipino Critic: Mrs. Rebecca P. Fenis
Vocational School Administrator I: Miss Lilia G. Fancubela

Ruby Umadhay-Espia

(Bookmark this page for future reference)

CABATUAN AIRPORT - Timeline 1980