Tribu Tinuom bags 2nd Runner up in Iloilo Kasadyahan Festival (January 2008)

Tribu Tinuom 2007 at Boracay, Aklan
Grupo Ilahas 2007 of Tiring National High School (TNHS), Brgy Tiring, Cabatuan
Video courtesy of PPDO Iloilo
Tribu Paghidaet dominates 2008 Dinagyang Ati competition
PIA 2008/01/28

Iloilo City (28 January) -- The downpour which started after Mayor Jerry Trenas declared the 2008 Dinagyang Festival Ati-Dance Competition open last Sunday did not dampen the spirits of the performers of Tribu Paghidaet who dominated the competition.

Tribu Paghidaet of the Lapaz National High School bested nineteen other competing tribes including last year's champion Tribu Ilonganon of Jaro Memorial National High School.

Aside from winning the P100,000 grand prize, Tribu Paghidaet was also declared best in costume, choreography and performance, winning another P10,000 each in the said minor awards. The tribe's choreographer, Ramil Huyatid, was also named Best Choreographer winning P5,000.

Tribu Ilonganon declared 1st runner-up took home P50,000 and another P20,000 for minor awards such as best in music and street dancing.

Adjudged 2nd runner-up was Tribu Taga Jaro winning P40,000, 3rd runner-up Tribu Silak winning P30,000 and 4th runner-up was Tribu Atub-Atub winning P20,000.

This year's Best in Discipline was Tribu ni San Pedro winning P5,000.

Though it did not win any award, Tribu Ivatan, the contingent from the province of Batanes also awed spectators with their colorful costume and performance.

On the other hand, Tribu Saad of the Leganes National High School won the top prize in the Kasadyahan Festival. It also won the best in production design, theme, and street dancing.

Other winners of the Kasadyahan Fesrtival are: Tribu Kasag of the municipality of Banate, 1st runner-up; Tribu Tinuom of Tiring National High School in Cabatuan, 2nd runner-up, Tribu Bayluhay of San Joaquin, 3rd runner-up; Tribu Mandurriaonon of Mandurriao National High School, 4th runner-up.

Tribu Kasag was also declared as best in choreography and performance.

The awarding of winners was held at the Iloilo Freedom Grandstand. (PIA)